The Tri-County Cattlemen’s Association will award six scholarships of $750, to eligible students in May 2019.  To be eligible, you must meet and complete the following requirements:


I.  You must be a high school senior who is a resident of Henderson, McDonough, or Warren County and plan on attending a two or four year college or university.


II.  You must be an active member of your county's 4-H, local FFA chapter, or be enrolled in an agriculture education course.


III.  You must be planning to major in an agriculture related area at a four year university or community college.


IV.  You must fully complete the application and write an original essay on “A significant challenge to the beef industry.”  The essay must be at least 750 words and needs to be typed and attached to the application. Failure to meet essay guidelines will result in immediate disqualification.  


V.  You must enclose a letter of recommendation from a current teacher in a sealed envelope.


All applications, essays, and teacher recommendations must be postmarked by April 1, 2019.  The Tri-County Cattlemen’s Association Scholarship Committee will then administer the applications, read each essay, and select six scholarship recipients.  Essays will be judged on the basic clarity of expression, originality, relevance of the topic, and the ability to follow the scholarship application guidelines.  Additional points will be given on the scoring rubric for those that own beef cattle and are members of the Illinois Beef Association or Illinois Junior Beef Association. Recipients will be notified by mail in May 2019.  


Students that are selected as recipients will be recognized at their high school awards ceremony in May 2019.  Scholarship check will be given to recipient following successful completion of the first semester with at least a 2.25 cumulative GPA.  


Please send in a legal sized envelope:

1.      Completed application

2.      750 word essay: “A significant challenge to the beef industry.”

3.      Sealed teacher letter of recommendation